Capture the Flag Boy and MIA Texts #2

May 13th I got a text from Caden aka Capture the Flag Boy. The last time I heard from him, he was trying to hang out Valentine’s Day, then before that, it was December. In today’s casual hookup culture, people come and go. One second, you’re hanging out regularly, the next, the person is MIA and suddenly reappears months later. This is post two of five about Capture the Flag Boy and MIA Texts.

Capture the Flag Boy and MIA Texts #2

After the first date (see Capture the Flag Boy and MIA Texts #1), we texted back and forth for a few weeks trying to make plans to hang out again, but our schedules never aligned. We both eventually gave up and I almost totally forgot about him, that is, until a month later. Capture the Flag Boy added me on Facebook about a month after we stopped texting each other.

I was a bit thrown off. Generally I don’t add guys on Facebook I’ve only been on one date with, especially if we met online. I accepted it, then texted him to sarcastically question the befriending. We then caught up via text and he told me he was volunteering as a stage hand for a theatre and offered me free tickets to the show. I accepted and gave him a date for the show a couple weeks later.

The night before the show, my roommate Andy had a friend over photographing him. I have a bit of photography experience myself, so when I saw the strobe in Andy’s room, I was eager to see what was going on. I watched as they finished up their shoot, then I went and sat to do some work in the living room. Once they tore down the lighting, Andy was getting dressed for them to go out that evening. His friend, David, came out and introduced himself. David is about 5’9″, much shorter than I usually go for, but still taller than me. He’s got freckles, light brown eyes, brown hair, and perfect teeth with a great smile. Very sweet and boyish features.

David told me about his experience as a photographer and how he went to college with Andy. We got talking about all things photo and the conversation was flawlessly smooth. We instantly became comfortable with one another. As Andy came out and saw us talking, he interrupted and said I should come out to the bars with them. I agreed, got dressed, and we all headed out.

Andy was DJing a set at the first bar of the evening, so when we arrived, he went to the DJ booth and David and I were left alone at the table together. We got chatting again and naturally fell into light, flirty conversation. I was trying to be supportive of Andy as he was DJing, but was so distracted by David. When Andy came down from the booth, David and I both congratulated Andy, and Andy stole David away from me for a smoke.

How-to-secure-DJ-gig

When they came back, Andy said we should all go dancing. I agreed and we were off to the next bar. We walked in, David asked what I wanted to drink and he made his way to the bar as Andy and I made our way to the back dancing area. Andy told me that David liked me, which was obvious. He then proceeded to tell me how good of a guy he is. Caveat, David doesn’t live in Chicago. I didn’t care, I really liked him.

David came bearing drinks. We sat on the couches in the back of the club and sipped and chatted some more. David now sitting right next to me, he put his hand on my thigh, gently rubbing it. He was sweet, but obviously nervous. It seemed like he was unsure of how to navigate the scenario.

Several of our friends showed up. I got up and gave hugs, and then they pulled me to the dance floor. I looked at David and did a come hither finger motion. He followed us to the dance floor. It was soul night, so it was lighter and more harmless than a night of grinding at the club. David and I danced and laughed and danced some more. It was a 4am bar and we didn’t realize the time till lights went up and it was last call.

Andy, David, and I waved down a cab and went home. David, who was planning on crashing on a couch, asked if he could crash on my bed. He said that we didn’t need to have sex or anything, he just wanted something more comfortable than a couch. I laughed and told him of course, I was already planning on having him sleep in my bed.

We got home and I took him straight to my room. I got down to my tank top and underwear and he stripped down to his boxers. We hadn’t kissed or anything at this point, but we were already half naked. I climbed into bed. He followed. We laid there and started talking. If all the talking and dancing wasn’t enough, we continued. After about another hour of talking, he finally made his move and kissed me. We ended up making out for a while and pausing every once in a while to chat more. There was some feeling each other up, but he was very hesitant with every little thing he did. I wanted to sleep with him, but I was also kind of liking the slow pace he was setting.

After a couple hours of this, we realized it was 7am and he had to wake up by 10am. He spooned me and we cuddled then next three hours until his alarm went off. The next morning, we ate breakfast, he said his good bye and told me if I was ever near him in Bloomington, I should call him. He had one more night in Chicago, but already had plans with another friend.

I went back to bed and then several hours later woke up to get ready for the theatre. I brought my friend Geoffrey to the show. It was a hot summer day, I dressed up in a sexy short black, red, and white paisley dress and black wedges. We arrived, got our tickets from will call and found our seats. There was absolutely no cell phone reception in the theatre, so I couldn’t text Caden to thank him and say that we made it, but he found us anyways. He was up in the balcony so he yelled down to say hi. Oh my god, I forgot how sexy his smile was. He black and puerto rican mixed, long maintained dreads, angular facial features, tall, fit, and great eyes.

During intermission, Geoffrey and I went outside to chat and so he could smoke a cigarette. I told Geoffrey everything about David and Caden. I explained I just met David last night, but kind of wanted to see if him and his friend wanted to meet us for drinks, but I also wanted to tell Caden he should join us as a thank you for the tickets. Geoffrey helped me and said I should text David and see what he says because he only has one night left and if he can’t I can then tell Caden. This seemed like a great idea, so I texted David.

We then went back into the receptionless theatre and watched the 2nd half of the show. When the show ended, Geoffrey and I made our way out, but Caden stopped us along the way. We thanked him, I introduced Geoffrey to him, and said I would be right back with them so I could step out to the bathroom to check my phone. Once in the bathroom, I tried checking my phone, but because of the lack of cell reception, there was nothing. I went back out to the boys. Caden was kind of lingering, I then thanked him again and told him we should get drinks sometime next week because I had a friend in town that night and already had plans with him, hoping that David would still message me. We said our goodbyes and Geoffrey and I walked out.

50555440

As soon as we got out of the theatre, I got the text. David wasn’t able to make it out that night. I blew off Caden with hope of seeing David, but that failed. I was bummed, but then went and danced my sorrows away in Boystown with Geoffrey.

After that night, Caden disappeared yet again for another month… a recurring theme with Capture the Flag Boy. Boys that go MIA instantly fall into the red flag category, yet for some reason he still had me intrigued.

Yours Truly,
Kallie Pygus

Leave a Reply

